Album Review: Vista Kicks – “Twenty Something Nightmare”

Rock band Vista Kicks released their second album, Twenty Something Nightmare which is full of tap dancing (“Cool It’), made-up words (My Machula”), and a two-part song (“Million Dollar Seller Pts. 1 & 2”), that is equal parts groovy and innovative.

Derek Thomas, Sam Plecker, Trevor Sutton, and Nolan Le Vine have been very busy having just released their first studio album, Booty Shakers Ball in September of 2017. Twenty Something Nightmare came this year in July.

Twenty Something Nightmare as a whole is reminiscent of The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. Vista Kicks have a very retro sound to all of their music but with this album, they curated a theatrical soundtrack if you will. If someone played this and told you it was from the 1960s you’d probably believe them. These guys deliver authentic rock nostalgia effortlessly and flawlessly without being too niche. However, they stay fresh and original by incorporating their own style on each song which makes each track very unique and different while still staying in the same theme.

The seventh song, “Wrong Side of Town” is a very vigorous track. With lyrics like “Crazy and outta sight / Call me Mr. Dynamite” how can you not dance? Simply put it’s just a badass song.

“Having a Good Time” is a slower, bluesy track. It’s the perfect nod to those days when you’re lying to yourself that you’re having a good time but really you’d rather just be watching Netflix and eating super fries (just me?). With this track, Vista Kicks showcases how they can be versatile yet still in the same realm of music.

Vista Kicks is going on a U.S. fall tour and tickets can be found here.

  1. Million Dollar Seller, Pt. 1
  2. If I Didn’t Have You
  3. Victim of the Times
  4. Live, You’re Gonna Die
  5. I’m Yours
  6. Cool It
  7. Wrong Side of Town
  8. Numbers
  9. Million Dollar Seller, Pt. 2
  10. Machula
  11. Why Do You Say You Love Me
  12. Having a Good Time
  13. Kelly Come Back
  14. I Can’t Think of Anybody but U
  15. Your Love Is All I Need
  16. Water Under the Bridge
  17. All over Now
  18. Twenty Something Nightmare

Post and photos by Gigi Gradillas

What do you thin of this album? Comment below.

LIKE, FOLLOW, and SUBSCRIBE to Concert Crap on social media:

Instagram l Facebook l Youtube l Twitter

Support us on Patreon or Paypal


Donate to us


AND ‘SUBSCRIBE’ to our email newsletter to know the very moment a new post is published!



Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.