Album Review: Halestorm – “Vicious”

On July 27, Halestorm released Vicious. This is the hard rock band’s fourth album. It’s been a few years since they released their previous album, Into the Wild Life. While the four-piece group has toured extensively since it came out in 2015, fans were eagerly anticipating new music from Halestorm.

The album opens with “Black Vultures.” While the introduction sounds a bit heavier than what you’d normally expect of Halestorm, the rest of the song perfectly captures what Halestorm is about, especially with Lzzy Hale’s powerful vocals towards the end. The first time I heard “Skulls,” I immediately fell in love with the introduction. It sounds a bit different, but it’s super contagious. “Uncomfortable” is the first song that Halestorm premiered off of this record. It starts immediately and is fast-paced, with lyrics that keep up with the beat of the track. “Uncomfortable” makes you want to keep listening and pay attention to the words. “Do Not Disturb” is a very catchy song. You’ll want to sing and dance along after you hear the chorus for the first time.

“Heart of Novocaine” is one of the slower songs on the album. It’s filled with lyrics where you can hear the emotion in Lzzy Hale’s voice. This is one of those songs that you can imagine an arena of fans screaming the lyrics louder than the band. The title track fades in for a few seconds before jumping right into the lyrics. The beat in the verses is very catchy. Vicious ends on a slow note with “The Silence,” a slow song with really descriptive, visual lyrics.

For me, Vicious is going to be one of those albums that gets better the more you listen to it. There are a few songs in particular that I can’t wait to hear live. Halestorm will be touring throughout the end of the year, and all of their tour dates can be found here.

  1. Black Vultures
  2. Skulls
  3. Uncomfortable
  4. Buzz
  5. Do Not Disturb
  6. Conflicted
  7. Killing Ourselves To Live
  8. Heart Of Novocaine
  9. Painkiller
  10. White Dress
  11. Vicious
  12. The Silence

Post by Anna Rhodes

What did you think of this album? Comment below.

Like Concert Crap on Facebook

Subscribe to our Youtube

Follow Concert Crap on Instagram

Follow Concert Crap on Twitter

Follow us on Snapchat: @ConcertCrap

Or ‘SUBSCRIBE’ to our email newsletter to know the very moment a new post is published!


About Anna Rhodes 59 Articles
I recently graduated from George Mason University with a degree in Communication. I go to a lot of concerts and take pictures of them.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.