Album Review: Evanescence – “Synthesis”

Synthesis 1

On November 10, Evanescence released their fourth album, Synthesis. The whole concept of this record is something unique, as it is mainly rearrangements of their earlier material featuring an orchestra. There are only two brand new songs on Synthesis.

The album opens with “Overture,” an instrumental introduction song. The music flows perfectly into the next track, “Never Look Back.” “Hi Lo” was supposed to be on Evanescence’s self-titled album in 2011, but was never released. This track features Lindsey Stirling on the violin. Another one of the reworked songs is “Bring Me to Life.” This new version is very different compared to the previous. The backing vocals that everybody loved to sing along to are gone, taking away some of fun. The song is still dramatic and it definitely grows on you.

Another instrumental song is “Unraveling,” which leads well into “Imaginary.” I love the original version of this song, and the new version is of my favorites of the reworked tracks. The verses of the song have some electronica elements in them, which actually go well with the orchestra. Amy Lee’s vocals in “My Immortal” are really powerful, setting it apart from original that was released in 2003. “The In-Between” is another instrumental piece, this one a piano solo. Synthesis closes with “Imperfection,” the band’s current single. This song stands out from the rest, as it is fast-paced and has more of a rock sound. It’s definitely catchy, and you’ll want to sing along after you hear it for the first time.

Synthesis is definitely something different. With the exclusion of the last song, this isn’t much of a rock album. Evanescence is still on their Synthesis Live tour supporting this record. Every night of that tour features an orchestra performing live with the band. These songs translate over very well to a live setting. While Synthesis may be distinct, it’s sure to grow on you.

  1. Overture
  2. Never Go Back
  3. Hi-Lo
  4. My Heart Is Broken
  5. Lacrymosa
  6. End of the Dream
  7. Bring Me to Life
  8. Unraveling
  9. Imaginary
  10. Secret Door
  11. Lithium
  12. Lost in Paradise
  13. Your Star
  14. My Immortal
  15. The In-Between
  16. Imperfection

Post by Anna Rhodes

Did you attend this tour? Comment below.

Like Concert Crap on Facebook

Subscribe to our Youtube

Follow Concert Crap on Instagram

Follow Concert Crap on Twitter

Follow us on Snapchat: @ConcertCrap

Or click the “Follow” link on the bottom right corner and type in your email to get updates sent directly to your inbox.


About Anna Rhodes 59 Articles
I recently graduated from George Mason University with a degree in Communication. I go to a lot of concerts and take pictures of them.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.