Album Review: Pete Lynch – “Kill the Monster”


Alt-rock artist Pete Lynch is releasing his sophomore album Kill the Monster May 19 and this is one that you’ll definitely want to get. The songs on this album will resonate and burrow inside your head to the point that you will not be able to stop singing them, especially “Come Down.” The lyrics are like a mantra that get stuck in your head.

There’s a lot of electronic elements to this album that creates this really cool synth effect, as well as an echo, which gives the songs dimensionality. “Till The Rivers Run Dry” has a lot of this synth and echo in it; it’s a song you can see an entire arena filled with thousands of fans belting at the top of their lungs. It’s one of the best songs on the album, both musically and lyrically.

It was obvious that there was a lot of care that went into the making of these songs. They are all very well-rounded. Besides the two songs already mentioned, other standouts include “Scars,” “The Silence,” and “In Your Head,” but that doesn’t mean the other songs are not just as good as these. This is one of those rare albums that has no bad song on it.

Something that makes this album very unique is that these songs were conceived with a look towards the future, specifically as to how these songs will perform in a live performance in front of an audience. Unlike some albums that fall flat when performed live, these songs were made to be performed live.

Kill the Monster is a great release by Pete Lynch that only gets better the longer you listen to it.

  1. Kill The Monster
  2. Come Down
  3. Till The Rivers Run Dry
  4. Scars
  5. Where Are You
  6. The Silence
  7. Better Now
  8. In Your Head
  9. Make No Mistake
  10. 4010
  11. Home

Post by Karen Shalev

What are your thoughts on this album? Comment below.

Support us on Patreon

Like Concert Crap on Facebook

Subscribe to our Youtube

Follow Concert Crap on Instagram

Follow Concert Crap on Twitter

Follow us on Snapchat: @ConcertCrap

Or click the “Follow” link on the bottom right corner and type in your email to get updates sent directly to your inbox.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.