Album Review: Cirith Ungol – “King of the Dead” (Ultimate Edition)


There’s no way that a band whose name is taken from J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings can release a bad album; it’s just not possible. So there’s no way in hell that Cirith Ungol’s King of the Dead (Ultimate Edition), releasing April 28, could ever be anything but amazing.

“Master of the Pit” is a great single off the album. It’s one of the longer songs, but it doesn’t drag. It starts off with some insane guitar work; then the bass comes in followed by the drums. Finally the vocals begin and perform with the rest of the elements of the song. The quality of each individual element in this song is so good by itself that when they all come together, it’s mind-blowing. This album is chock-full of fun, high-quality music. “Cirith Ungol” is another top-notch single, as is “King of the Dead.” The most fun single on the album, though, has to be “Toccata in D Minor” because come on – who can resist a heavy metal version of classical music that doesn’t actually put you to sleep?

This Ultimate Edition release has included some live recordings, which are always more fun to listen to. “Last Laugh,” “Master of the Pit,” “King of the Dead,” and “Cirith Ungol” are all available to listen to as either the studio recording or the live version on this album. If you have to pick, listen to the live recordings. While the studio recordings are good, the live recordings have this extra element to them that you only get from bands when they perform in front of a live audience; it gives the songs that extra little something that elevates them from the rest. “Death of the Sun” also has its studio recording on the album, as well as an alternate version.

Cirith Ungol set themselves a really high standard when they took their name from Tolkien and this album not only lives up to that standard, but surpasses it. This album is simply perfection in every way.

Purchase “King of the Dead”

1. Atom Smasher
2. Black Machine
3. Master of the Pit
4. King of the Dead
5. Death of the Sun
6. Finger of Scorn
7. Toccata in D minor
8. Cirith Ungol
9. Last Laugh (Live)
10. Death of the Sun (alt mix)
11. Master of the Pit (Live)
12. King of the Dead (Live)
13. Cirith Ungol (Live)

Post by Karen Shalev

What are your thoughts on this album? Comment below.

Like Concert Crap on Facebook

Subscribe to our Youtube

Follow Concert Crap on Instagram

Follow Concert Crap on Twitter

Follow us on Snapchat: @ConcertCrap

Or click the “Follow” link on the bottom right corner and type in your email to get updates sent directly to your inbox.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.