Elvis Depressedly “Holo Pleasures / California Dreamin’” – a pleasure to hear

Elvis Depressedly - Holo Pleasures : California Dreamin

Elvis Depressedly, a band originating in North Carolina, is formed by two innovative artists; Mat Cothran and Delaney Mills, who have a way of delivering music in its most authentic and inviting way. The duo’s latest album, Holo Pleasures / California Dreamin’ is simply a product of pure talent and creativity.

Holo Pleasures / California Dreamin’ tends toward relating to its listeners without craving approval from pop culture. Throughout the 12 track album, a combination of monotonous vocals, experimental musicianship, and endearing lyrics allows for the album to not only acquire an entrancing alternative rock sound but also provides the listener with insight into the artistic perspective behind it all.

The duo’s grant for variety in the album almost demands attentiveness from the listener in order to experience what each song has to offer. Title track “Holo Pleasures (California Dreamin’)” communicates an array of emotions to the audience in a short amount of time. Cothran and Mills do such an incredible job at conveying the ideas put into this song that, while listening to the track, it only seems natural to take on a nostalgic, yet hopeful attitude.

On another note, track seven “Angel Cum Clean” incorporates the use of folk quality vocals, lo-fi guitar, and the remarkable introduction of drums nearly halfway through the track. The repetition of the song along with the use of somewhat ambiguous lyrics captures the audience’s attention and holds it until the tail end of the track where everything boils down to nothing but the outstanding utilization of synth.

In conclusion: there is not one notably weak aspect of Elvis Depressedly’s most recent album. Holo Pleasures / California Dreamin’, from start to finish, showcases ingenuity and can be appreciated by new and old fans alike.

  1. Okay
  2. Pepsi/Coke Suicide
  3. Inside You
  4. Teeth
  5. Weird Honey
  6. Thinning Out
  7. Angel Cum Clean
  8. Slip
  9. Cop Poet
  10. Holo Pleasures (California Dreamin’)
  11. Nakamura
  12. Up in the Air


Post by Arianna Bruno

What are your thoughts on this release? Comment below.

Like Concert Crap on Facebook

Subscribe to our Youtube

Follow Concert Crap on Instagram

Follow Concert Crap on Twitter

Follow us on Snapchat: @ConcertCrap

Or click the “Follow” link on the bottom right corner and type in your email to get updates sent directly to your inbox.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.