Erra “Drift” evolves and improves band’s sound for the better


Erra has released their newest album Drift and it is something that shouldn’t be passed up. It is the metalcore band’s first release off of Sumerian Records, and their first album since 2013’s Augment. This is also the first release with  J.T. Cavey singing vocals for the band.

Singer and guitarist Jesse Cash’s clean vocals will hook you in even more to the whole album with his longer, refined voice. The screaming vocals do take a step back on some songs, but they mesh well in the good cop, bad cop formula and play off each other very well.

The first track “Luminesce” throws all the finger-licking guitar glory at you and never backs down. The same can be said for the rest of the album.

The band has a similar sound on instruments and vocal work to that of Periphery. That would be a perfect tour with them two playing their similar styles.

More highlights from the album are “Hourglass” and “Drift”.

“The Hypnotist” is such an amazing track to finalize this loud and aggressive album. It builds, having high quality guitar sounds rolling along from top to bottom, to all of a sudden slow down towards the end and take you away

Just close your eyes, listen to the entire album from front to back and you’ll be impressed. Drift is a great album to add to your metalcore collection.

  1. Luminesce
  2. Irreversible
  3. Skyline
  4. Hourglass
  5. Orchid
  6. Drift
  7. Sleeper
  8. Continum
  9. Safehaven
  10. The Hypnotist


Post by Corey Kleinsasser

What are your thoughts on Erra and Drift?  Comment below.

Like Concert Crap on Facebook

Subscribe to our Youtube

Follow Concert Crap on Instagram

Follow Concert Crap on Twitter

Follow us on Snapchat: @ConcertCrap

Or click the “Follow” link on the bottom right corner and type in your email to get updates sent directly to your inbox.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.